Sign In



USB’s alumni – keepers of the flame

From as early as 1978, the year in which the USB Alumni Association was founded, the Association has been putting in a concerted effort to keep in touch with alumni. Even though the Association has had various names over the years, its goal has always been the same: engage with alumni and form networks in ways that hold benefits for both the Association and USB.

The Alumni Association of the Graduate School of Business of the University of Stellenbosch, called NABUS at the time, was founded on 25 October 1978.  From 12 March 1986 the association was known as the USB Club / USB-Klub. The name changed to the USB Alumni Association / USB-Alumnivereniging in August 2006.

Membership of the Association

The Association has four membership categories, namely alumni members, certificate programme members, USB staff members and honorary members.

  • USB: All graduates of USB’s PhD, MBA and MPhil degrees and Postgraduate Diplomas automatically become members of the USB Alumni Association upon graduation.
  • USB-ED: Participants on USB Executive Development’s comprehensive in-house and open programmes (with a duration of at least two weeks) also become USB alumni upon graduation. These programmes include the Executive Development Programme, Senior Management Development Programme, Management Development Programme, Certificate in Coaching Practice and Certificate in Executive Human Resources.
  • Staff members: This typically includes the Director and people from USB’s Marketing and Stakeholder Relations function.
  • Honorary members: By invitation from the USB Alumni Association’s Exco.


The USB Alumni Association’s ExCo takes care of the overall strategy and operations of the Association. The president and the chairperson of the Association represent the School’s alumni on the USB Advisory Board. The ExCo meets twice a year, and comprises the following people:

  • The president of the USB Alumni Association
  • The national chairperson of the USB Alumni Association, as elected by USB Alumni ExCo from the ranks of the chairpersons of the Regional Committees of the Association
  • Chairpersons of the Regional Committees of the Association
  • A maximum of two prominent alumni, nominated by the Exco
  • The director of USB (ex officio)
  • The head of USB’s Marketing and Stakeholder Relations (ex officio)
  • The CEO of USB-ED (ex officio)
  • The marketing executive of USB-ED (ex officio)
  • The manager of USB’s Alumni Office (ex officio).

The current president of the USB Alumni Association is Prof Prieur du Plessis, professor extraordinaire at USB and executive chairman of Plexus Asset Management. The current chairperson of the USB Alumni Association’s Exco is Isa Omagu, general manager of Guaranty Trust Bank plc, Nigeria.

Current members of the USB Alumni Association’s Exco:

Name and surname USB Alumni Exco Designation
Prof Prieur du Plessis Alumni Association President
Isa Omagu West Africa Exco Chair
Nkosinathi Matu Western Cape Chairperson
Greg Clack Eastern Cape Interim ​Chairperson
Nirvana Rampersad Gauteng Chairperson
Zibu Mthiyane  KZN Chairperson
Elyssa Spreeth Mpumalanga Chairperson
Jakkie Coetzee Namibia Chairperson
Dr Josephat Kiweu East Africa Chairperson
Dr Mehran Zarrebini UK Chairperson
Bettina Schneider Europe Chairperson
Matlhogonolo Sebate Botswana Chairperson
Dr Geraldine Gina Abaidoo Ghana Chairperson
Anneke Heckroodt​ DubaiChairperson​
Pieter Uys Prominent alumnus Prominent alumnus
Prof Piet Naudé USB Director
Owen Mbundu​ USB Head: Marketing ​
Frik Landman USB-ED CEO
Christélle Cronjé​ USB Manager: Alumni Relations
Brigitte  Roediger USB-ED Marketing Director